Awards

George Berci Lifetime Achievement Award 2010

Last April 14, 2010, during the World Congress of Surgery that was held in Washington DC, the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons (SAGES) gave Professor Marescaux his most prestigious Award for the “accomplishment of his surgical masterpiece”.

This Award truly represents an outstanding recognition in the field of minimal access surgery since this uppermost distinction had been given only to 4 surgeons in 30 years’ time.

MICCAI Kitware 2009

On September 23, 2009, the R&D in computer-assisted surgery team led by Professor Luc Soler was awarded the first prize of the Best Biomedical Visualization Competition for the second consecutive year at the International Conference for the Treatment of Medical Images and Computer-Assisted Interventions (MICCAI) in London, UK.

Antoni de Gimbernat Award 2008

Wednesday the 1st of October 2008, Professor Jacques Marescaux, President of the IRCAD, was awarded the prestigious Antoni de Gimbernat prize by Professor Antonio Sitges-Serra, President of the Spanish Surgery Society. The prize, awarded on a yearly basis since 1963, is the highest distinction delivered in Spain to eminent members of the international surgical community.

MICCAI Award 2008

Last September 11, 2008 in New York, the IRCAD Imaging and Surgical Robotics team, led by Professor Luc Soler, was awarded the MICCAI first Prize at the Medical Image Computing and Computer-Assisted Intervention Conference for the elaboration of the VR-Render software.

MICCAI Young Scientist Award 2007

On 1st November 2007, Wael Bachta received the MICCAI Young Scientist Award at the Medical Image Computing and Computer-Assisted Intervention – MICCAI 2007 for his article : Cardiolock: an active cardiac stabilizer - First in vivo experiments using a new robotized device par W. Bachta, P. Renaud, E. Laroche, J. Gangloff et A. Forgione.

miccai_lncs.pdf

Health Trophy 2006 of Le Monde Informatique

IRCAD won the Health Trophy 2006 of the magazine Le Monde Informatique, which rewards the best informatics strategies, for the development of computer sciences adapted to medical and surgical training and research. Congratulations to the R&D team in computer sciences and robotics and to WebSurg for the computerization of surgical training in the new operative technologies of computer-guided minimally invasive surgery.

http://www.idg.fr/TROPHEES2006/telechargement/LMI_Trophees.pdf

European Innovation Hopes 2006

Clément Forest and Alexandre Hostettler won the first prize of the European Innovation Hopes 2006 and have been rewarded 3.000 € for their medical ultrasonography and needle insertion simulator under ultrasound control dedicated to the training of surgical manoeuvres and the certification of medical professionals.

http://www.innovact.com/IMG/pdf/lettre03.pdf

2005 King-Sun Fu Memorial Best Transactions on Robotics Paper Award

15th March 2006: the Active Filtering of Physiological Motion in Robotized Surgery Using Predictive Control paper co-authored by R. Ginhoux, J. Gangloff, M. de Mathelin, L. Soler, M.M. Arenas Sanchez and J. Marescaux received the 2005 King-Sun Fu Memorial Best Transactions on Robotics Paper Award after being published in the IEEE Transactions on Robotics.

http://eavr.u-strasbg.fr/wiki/images/2/28/Best_paper_tro_2005.pdf

2nd Prize of the "SensAble Developer Challenge"

HORUS (Haptic Operative Realistic Ultrasonography Simulator) has obtained the $5000 second prize of the SensAble Developer Challenge.
This challenge was open worldwide to developers who competed to create commercially-oriented applications making the most of the SensAble's PHANTOM Omni haptic device.

http://www.sensable.com/pr_20050802/news-press-detail.htm

"Le Monde de la recherche" Award 2004

Category: Exact Sciences

Winner: Clement Forest

Each year, this prize rewards outstanding PhDs.
Title of the thesis : Surgery simulation by celioscopy : contributing to the study of volumetric cutting, force feed back and blood vessel modelling.


http://www.lemonde.fr/mde/prix/index.html

Best Demo Award 2004

Demo presented by Clement Forest.
Contact and Haptic Model of surgical instruments in a laparoscopic simulator
ISMS04 (International Symposium on Medical Bimulation)
Boston MA 17 June 2004.

http://medicalsim.org/symposium2004/followup.html

ICRA Best Vision Paper

The AVR Team (Automation, Vision and Robotics) and IRCAD's R&D Team conjointly obained the Best Vision Paper from the most prestigious international conference on robotics (IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation, ICRA'2004) for the following article: Beating Heart Tracking in Robotic Surgery Using 500 Hz visual servoing, Model Predictive Control and an adaptative Observer, R. Ginhoux, J.A. Gangloff, M.F. De Mathelin, L. Soler, M. Arenas Sanchez and J. Marescaux. Proceeding of ICRA'2004, Vol. 1, pp. 274-279

http://www.egr.msu.edu/ralab/icra2004/


 

Cum Laude Poster Awards 2004

Caroline Villard obtained the first prize (Cum Laude Poster Awards) from the greatest international congres on medical image processing (Medical Imaging 2004) for her poster on 3D radiofrequency simulation and planning: Toward realistic radiofrequency ablation of hepatic tumors 3D simulation and planning, C. Villard, L. Soler, A. Gangi, D. Mutter and J. Marescaux, Medical Imaging 2004, Proceeding of SPIE Vol.5367, pp. 586-595.



http://www.spie.org/Conferences/Calls/05/mi/index.cfm...

World Summit Award 2003

The World Summit Award was given to IRCAD (Research Institute for Cancer of the Digestive System) in the e-health category on Wednesday 10th December, during the World Summit on the Information Society organised in the framework of the United Nations. It rewards the Argonaute 3D project developed by IRCAD in partnership with France Télécom.

Argonaute 3D is an experimental application that enables medical professionals - general practitioner, radiologist, surgeon - at different locations to share and work together in realtime using a 3D image that reconstitutes a patient's clinical data from MRI or CT scans. This analysis allows specialists and referring physicians to determine together the optimal time and strategy for a surgical intervention. Argonaute 3D enables inputs from specialists anywhere in the world as long as they have a broadband DSL link to the Internet.
Argonaute 3D is a totally secure platform, thus guaranteeing complete confidentiality of medical records.
This award was given to IRCAD after a jury had gathered in Dubai last October to examine 800 projects from 136 participating countries. The World Summit Award is a global 3 year project, which seeks to demonstrate concrete benefits of the Information Society in terms of the new qualities in e-content and innovative applications, by selecting, presenting and promoting the best products from all over the world and placing an overall emphasis on closing the content gap.
The World Summit Award was under the high patronage of Mr. Romano Prodi, President of the European Commission, Dr. Wolfgang Schüssel, Federal Chancellor of Austria, Mr. Ion Iliescu, President of Romania, de Mr. Abdoulaye Wade, President of Senegal.

World Summit Award
World Summit Award

EXCELL AWARD 2003

Professor Jacques Marescaux received the EXCELL Surgery Award in Las Vegas on September 24, 2003 for IRCAD's contribution to medical training and research, notably in the field of robotics. The prize was delivered to Professor Marescaux by Professor Richard Satava, Colonel Surgeon of the American Army, who highlighted IRCAD's outstanding accomplishments for more than 10 years.
The IRCAD was all the more honored to receive this award as it is usually granted to American surgeons.

American Society of Anesthesiologists Award 2003

The American Society of Anesthesiologists is an educational, research and scientific association of physicians organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology and improve the care of the patient.

Our participation at the 2003 annual session of the ASA was awarded exceptional merit.
This software, called Virtual Model for Navigation in the Upper Airway as a Teaching Tool for Fiberoptic Intubation was developed by the Applied Research Department of IRCAD.
The exhibit was qualified outstanding, and a distinct contribution to the science and progress of anaesthesiology.

BULLUKIAN AWARD 2002

On June 20, 2002, the IRCAD was granted the Bullukian Foundation Award by Claude Allegre, Honorary President. This prize was awarded at the end of the "Hospital and Technological Innovation, the model of imaging studies" symposium, organized for the bicentennary of the Lyon Hospices Civils' creation. This prize represents the most important endowment for surgical research worldwide. It honors the IRCAD's achievements and it is promising for the future.
In 2002, the Bullukian Foundation decided to create a prize for surgical research, the Bullukian Foundation Award, granted bi-anually. This prize follows the tradition of Napoleon Bullukian, who devoted part of his fortune to help his fellow citizens, to encourage the young artists and to raise funds for medical research.

ComputerWorld Honors Award 2002

Professor Jacques Marescaux has been awarded his second Computerworld Honors Program Award in the medicine category on June 3rd 2002 in Washington D.C. This recognition paid tribute to the research works of IRCAD/EITS on a project that has been carried out in partnership with France Telecom and Computer Motion.
Less than a year after the Lindbergh Operation, which for the first time in surgical history and thanks to the engineers of our partners was able to master transmission delays linked to distance, IRCAD/EITS has received an award from one of the most prestigious American institutions : the Computerworld Honors Award.

One thousand projects had been submitted, coming from 35 countries. 312 files were selected and finally only 7 finalists were lined up in the medicine category, including EITS/IRCAD, led by Prof. Marescaux, the only European candidate to be honoured.
Finalists were selected by a jury of renowned experts on such varied criteria as the impact on society, the importance of information technology, novelty of the research, success and encountered difficulties.

ComputerWorld Smithsonian Award 1999

Category: Medicine, rank : 4th
Virtual university applied to telesurgery:
from tele-education to tele-manipulation.

Laval Virtual Award 1999

Category: Medicine
Hepatic surgery Simulator.
award won by IRCAD - INRIA.

 
DONATE DONATE
Corporatebrochure Corporate
brochure
High Definition High Definition
IRCAD-Studfarm project IRCAD-Stud
farm project
Prizes & honors Prizes & honors
Publications & communications Publications & communications
Contact Contact
IRCAD/EITS
Hôpitaux Universitaires
1, place de l'Hôpital
67091 Strasbourg Cedex, FRANCE
33 (0)3 88 11 90 08
33 (0)3 88 11 90 99
info@ircad.fr
  Follow IRCAD

Distinctions

George Berci Lifetime Achievement Award 2010

Le 14 avril 2010, lors du congrès mondial de chirurgie qui s’est déroulé à Washington DC, la Société Américaine de Chirurgie Mini-Invasive (SAGES) a remis au Professeur Jacques MARESCAUX son plus prestigieux Award pour «l'accomplissement de son oeuvre chirurgicale».

Il s'agit d'une reconnaissance exceptionnelle, puisque cette haute distinction n'avait été décernée en 30 ans qu'à 4 chirurgiens, tous américains.

MICCAI Kitware 2009

Le 23 septembre 2009 à Londres, l’équipe de Recherche et Développement en chirurgie assistée par ordinateur dirigée par le Professeur Luc Soler, a reçu pour la deuxième année consécutive le premier prix du concours Best Biomedical Visualization à la Conférence Internationale du Traitement d’Images Médicales et d’Opérations Assistées par Ordinateur (MICCAI).

Prix Antoni de Gimbernat 2008

Mercredi 1er octobre 2008, le Professeur Jacques Marescaux, Président de l’IRCAD s’est vu remettre le prestigieux prix Antoni de Gimbernat par le Professeur Antonio Sitges-Serra, Président de la Société Espagnole de Chirurgie. Ce prix, décerné tous les ans depuis 1963, est la plus haute distinction délivrée en Espagne à un membre éminent de la communauté chirurgicale internationale.

MICCAI Award 2008

Le 11 septembre 2008 à New York, l’équipe d’Imagerie et Robotique Chirurgicale de l’IRCAD dirigée par le Professeur Luc Soler, a reçu le premier prix MICCAI à la conférence « Medical Image Computing and Computer Assisted Intervention » pour l’élaboration du logiciel «VR-Render».

MICCAI Young Scientist Award 2007

Le 1er novembre 2007 à Brisbane, Wael Bachta a reçu le prix MICCAI du Jeune Scientifique à la conférence "Medical Image Computing and Computer-Assisted Intervention – MICCAI 2007" pour l'article: "Cardiolock: an active cardiac stabilizer - First in vivo experiments using a new robotized device" par W. Bachta, P. Renaud, E. Laroche, J. Gangloff et A. Forgione.

miccai_lncs.pdf

Trophée santé du Monde Informatique 2006

L'IRCAD a remporté le Trophée santé du Monde Informatique 2006 qui récompense les meilleures stratégies informatiques et qui a ainsi consacré le développement de l'informatique au service de la formation et de la recherche médicales et chirurgicales. Bravo aux équipes de R&D informatique et robotique et à WebSurg pour l'informatisation de la formation chirurgicale des nouvelles technologies opératoires de chirurgie mini-invasive assistée par ordinateur.

http://www.idg.fr/TROPHEES2006/telechargement/LMI_Trophees.pdf

Espoirs européens de l'innovation 2006

Les lauréats Clément Forest et Alexandre Hostettler ont remporté le premier prix des Espoirs européens de l'innovation 2006 doté de 3000 € pour leur simulateur médical d'échographie et de planté d'aiguille sous contrôle échographique pour l'entraînement aux gestes chirurgicaux et la certification des professionnels.

http://www.innovact.com/IMG/pdf/lettre03.pdf

King-Sun Fu Memorial du meilleur article 2005 de la revue IEEE Transactions on Robotics

15 mars 2006 : l'article "Active Filtering of Physiological Motion in Robotized Surgery Using Predictive Control" par R. Ginhoux, J. Gangloff, M. de Mathelin, L. Soler, M.M. Arenas Sanchez et J. Marescaux, a reçu le prix King-Sun Fu Memorial du meilleur article 2005 de la revue IEEE Transactions on Robotics.

http://eavr.u-strasbg.fr/wiki/images/2/28/Best_paper_tro_2005.pdf

2ème Prix pour le "SensAble Developer Challenge"

HORUS (Haptic Operative Realistic Ultrasonography Simulator) a obtenu le 2ème prix de 5000 $ du "SensAble Developer Challenge".
Ce concours, ouvert aux développeurs du monde entier, encourageait la création d'une application commerciale utilisant les périphériques à retour d'effort PHANTOM Omni.

http://www.sensable.com/pr_20050802/news-press-detail.htm

Prix 2004 "Le Monde de la recherche"

Catégorie : Sciences exactes
Lauréat : Clément Forest
Chaque année, ce prix récompense une quinzaine de thèses de qualité exceptionnelle.
Intitulé de la thèse : "Simulation de chirurgie par coelioscopie : contribution à l'étude de la découpe volumique, au retour d'effort et à la modélisation des vaisseaux sanguins".


http://www.lemonde.fr/mde/prix/index.html

Prix 2004 de la Meilleure Démonstration

Démonstration faite par Clément Forest.
Contact and Haptic Model of surgical instruments in a laparoscopic simulator
ISMS04 (International Symposium on Medical Simulation)
Boston MA, 17 juin 2004.

http://medicalsim.org/symposium2004/followup.html

ICRA Best Vision Paper

L'équipe AVR (Automation, Vision and Robotics) et l'équipe R&D de l'IRCAD ont obtenu conjointement le Best Vision Paper de la plus prestigieuse conférence internationale dans le domaine de la robotique (IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation, ICRA'2004) pour l'article suivant :
"Beating Heart Tracking in Robotic Surgery Using 500 Hz visual servoing, Model Predictive Control and an adaptative Observer", R. Ginhoux, J.A. Gangloff, M.F. De Mathelin, L. Soler, M. Arenas Sanchez and J. Marescaux. Proceeding of ICRA'2004, Vol. 1, pp. 274-279.

http://www.egr.msu.edu/ralab/icra2004/


 

Cum Laude Poster Awards 2004

Caroline Villard a remporté le premier prix ("Cum Laude Poster Awards") du plus important congrès international dans le domaine du traitement d'image médicale (Medical Imaging 2004) pour son poster sur la simulation et la planification de la radiofréquence en 3D :

"Toward realistic radiofrequency ablation of hepatic tumors 3D simulation and planning", C. Villard, L. Soler, A. Gangi, D. Mutter and J. Marescaux, Medical Imaging 2004, Proceeding of SPIE Vol.5367, pp. 586-595.



http://www.spie.org/Conferences/Calls/05/mi/index.cfm...

World Summit Award 2003

L'IRCAD a été récompensé par le World Summit Award 2003 dans la catégorie eHealth en décembre 2003 lors du Sommet Mondial de la Société de l'Information organisé par les Nations Unies. Ce prix récompense le projet "Argonaute 3D" développé par l'IRCAD en coopération avec France Télécom.

Argonaute 3D est une application expérimentale qui permet aux professionnels du monde médical - médecin généraliste, radiologue, chirurgien - se trouvant sur des sites distants de partager un dossier médical ainsi que le geste chirurgical. Ainsi, ils travaillent ensemble en temps réel grâce à une image 3D qui reconstruit les données cliniques d'un patient à partir de son image scanner TDM ou IRM. Cette analyse permet aux spécialistes et au médecin traitant de déterminer ensemble de la meilleure stratégie à appliquer pour une intervention chirurgicale. Grâce à Argonaute 3D, des spécialistes du monde entier peuvent contribuer au diagnostic, peu importe leur localisation tant qu'ils disposent d'une connexion Internet ADSL. Argonaute 3D est une plate-forme entièrement sécurisée, garantissant ainsi une totale confidentialité des dossiers médicaux.
Ce prix a été attribué à l'IRCAD après la réunion d'un jury à Dubaï en Octobre 2003 afin d'examiner 800 projets émanant de 136 pays. Le World Summit Award est un projet global d'une durée de 3 ans visant à démontrer les bénéfices concrets de la Société de l'Information en terme de nouveaux développements dans les domaines de l'e-content et les applications innovantes, en sélectionnant, présentant et faisant la promotion des meilleurs produits en provenance du monde entier et en mettant un point d'honneur à réduire les écarts au niveau du contenu.
Le World Summit Award s'est déroulé sous le haut patronage de M. Romano Prodi, Président de la Commission Européenne, Dr. Wolfgang Schüssel, Chancelier Fédéral d'Autriche, M. Ion Iliescu, Président de Roumanie, M. Abdoulaye Wade, Président du Sénégal.

World Summit Award
World Summit Award

EXCELL AWARD 2003

Le Pr. Jacques MARESCAUX s'est vu remettre mercredi 24 septembre à Las Vegas l'EXCELL Award de chirurgie 2003, qui consacre les activités de l'IRCAD dans le domaine de l'enseignement et de la recherche, notamment en robotique.
Le Professeur Richard SATAVA, Chirurgien Colonel de l'armée américaine, lui a remis ce trophée en rappelant le parcours exemplaire réalisé par l'IRCAD depuis près de 10 ans.
L'institut strasbourgeois est d'autant plus fier d'avoir obtenu ce prix qu'il est habituellement attribué à un chirurgien américain.

Prix 2003 de l'American Society of Anesthesiologists

L'American Society of Anethesiologists est une association éducative, scientifique et de recherche de médecins dont le but est d'élever et de maintenir les standards de la pratique médicale de l'anesthésiologie et d'améliorer les soins délivrés aux patients.

La participation de l'IRCAD à la session annuelle de 2003 de l'ASA s'est vu récompensée par le prix du " mérite exceptionnel".
Le logiciel présenté, intitulé "Virtual Model for Navigation in the Upper Airway as a Teaching Tool for Fiberoptic Intubation", a été développé par le département de recherche appliquée de l'IRCAD.
Il y a été désigné comme étant remarquable et représentant une contribution émérite pour la science et l'avancée de l'anesthésiologie.

PRIX BULLUKIAN 2002

L'IRCAD a reçu le Prix de la Fondation Bullukian sous la présidence d'honneur de Claude Allègre, le 20 juin 2002, à l'issue du colloque "Hôpital et Innovation Technologique, le modèle de l'Imagerie" organisé dans le cadre du bi-centenaire des Hospices Civils de Lyon.
Ce prix, qui constitue la dotation la plus importante dédiée à la recherche chirurgicale dans le monde, consacre les travaux réalisés à l'IRCAD pour tracer les voies du futur.
En 2002, la Fondation Bullukian a décidé de doter la Recherche en chirurgie d'un prix bi-annuel, le Prix de la Fondation Bullukian. Ce prix s'inscrit dans la tradition impulsée par son fondateur, Napoléon Bullukian qui consacra, de son vivant, une partie de sa fortune à aider ses compatriotes, à encourager les jeunes artistes et à recueillir des fonds pour la recherche médicale.

ComputerWorld Honors Award 2002

Le Professeur Jacques Marescaux a obtenu son second Computerworld Honors Program Award dans la catégorie médecine en juin 2002 à Washington D.C. Cette reconnaissance a rendu hommage aux travaux de recherche de l'IRCAD/EITS pour un projet qui a été réalisé en partenariat avec France Télécom et Computer Motion.
Moins d'un an après "l'Opération Lindbergh", grande première dans l'histoire de la chirurgie rendue possible grâce aux ingénieurs de France Télécom qui ont su maîtriser les délais de transmission liés à la distance, l'IRCAD/EITS s'est vu décerner un prix de l'une des plus prestigieuses institutions américaines : le Computerworld Honors Award.

Un millier de projets provenant de 35 pays ont été soumis. 321 dossiers ont été sélectionnés parmi lesquels 7 finalistes ont été retenus dans la catégorie "médecine", dont l'IRCAD/EITS, dirigé par le Pr. Marescaux, unique candidat européen a avoir obtenu un prix.
Les finalistes ont été sélectionnés par un jury d'experts de renom sur des critères aussi variés que l'impact sur la société, l'importance de la technologie de l'information, la nouveauté de la recherche, le succès et les difficultés rencontrées.

ComputerWorld Smithsonian Award 1999

Catégorie : Médecine, 4ème position
"Université virtuelle appliquée à la télé-chirurgie :
de la télé-éducation à la télé-manipulation".

Prix Laval Virtual 1999

Catégorie : Médecine
"Simulateur de chirurgie hépatique".
Prix remporté conjointement par l'IRCAD et l'INRIA.

 
FAIRE UN DON FAIRE UN DON
Brochure corporate Brochure corporate
La Haute Définition La Haute Définition
Projet HARAS Projet HARAS
Prix et distinctions Prix et distinctions
Publications & communications Publications & communications
Contact Contact
IRCAD/EITS
Hôpitaux Universitaires
1, place de l'Hôpital
67091 Strasbourg Cedex, FRANCE
33 (0)3 88 11 90 00
33 (0)3 88 11 90 99
info@ircad.fr
 Suivez l'IRCAD