Visit of Mr. Daniel Kablan Duncan, Vice-President of the Ivory Coast Republic

June 22, 2018

On June 19, 2018, Professor Jacques Marescaux welcomed Mr. Daniel Kablan Duncan, Vice-President of the Ivory Coast Republic, accompanied by a delegation of 30 representatives, including Mr. Alain-Richard Donwahi, Water Affairs and Forestry Minister, Mr. Souleymane Diarassouba, Minister of Trade, Handicrafts and SME Promotion, Acting Minister of Industry and Mines, Dr. Edith Clarisse Kouassy, Health Deputy Director General of the Ministry of Health and Public Hygiene, and Mr. Charles Gomis, Ambassador of the Ivory Coast Republic in France.

The Vice-President wished to discover the activities of IRCAD which is internationally recognized as the center of reference in cutting-edge minimally invasive and robotic surgery techniques. Mr. Daniel Kablan Duncan was particularly interested in the creation of IRCAD Africa in Rwanda which will allow Africa to step into the era of surgical innovation. Professor Marescaux was delighted to have the Vice-President visit the IRCAD, which “allowed Mr. Kablan Duncan to discover a model of new surgical technological development which the Ivory Coast Republic could benefit from”.

Dr. Kablan Duncan’s visit was planned within the framework of the Vice-President’s visit to the French Grand Est region organized by the ‘Foreign Trade Counsellors of France – Grand Est’ committee, in partnership with local and regional authorities (cities, metropolis, region, DIRECCTE, etc.).

Mr. Daniel Kablan Duncan is a leading political figure, and has been the Vice-President of the Ivory Coast Republic since 2017. He was the first person to hold this position, which was created after the constitutional referendum in 2016. Mr. Daniel Kablan Duncan’s used to be the Prime Minister, Minister of Economy, Finance, and Budget, and head of government under the presidency of Mr. Alassane Ouattara. He was the Minister of Economy, Finance, Planning, Industry, and Commerce from 1990 to 1993. He was also the Prime Minister from 1994 to 1999, under the presidency of Mr. Henri Konan Bédié.